Taiko Spirit, Signau, Switzerland

Bienvenue

A glimpse back at Taiko Spirit 2016

One year ago, people of all backgrounds, playing styles, and levels gathered in Switzerland to celebrate the joy of taiko together! We miss you all terribly, so thank you very much for sharing your memories today!

There are so many wonderful moments to reminisce over... So here is just one that we feel epitomises the essence of Taiko Spirit: friendship, fun, nature, and of course epic taiko!

Stay tuned for the dates of the next festival coming in summer 2018!

Arigatou gozaimasu!

Chers amis du taiko

Ce fut un véritable honneur de recevoir ici en Suisse tant de joueurs ouverts, tendres, sympas et talentueux.

Un grand merci à vous tous, qui avez voyagé de si loin jusqu'à notre petit coin de pays et qui avez joué avec un tel cœur durant les ateliers et sur scène. Un remerciement tout particulier à Tokara, Shogo Yoshii, Tsuchigumo Daiko, Kion Dojo, Fulda Taiko Dojo, TZD, Isabel Romeo et Steven Cools. Ce petit festival a fait un bon bout de chemin grâce à votre gentillesse et à votre support.
Nous ne vous en remercierons jamais assez!

Notre équipe a travaillé dur, mais ce que nous avons gagné – en terme de sourires, accolades, soutiens et souvenirs – est bien plus que ce que nous n'aurions jamais osé espérer!

N'oubliez pas de vous inscrire à la newsletter afin de garder contact. 

Nous sommes impatients de vous revoir en 2018!

Contributeur Festival: Isabel Romeo Taiko

Isabel Romeo

On se réjouit de vous présenter Isabel Romeo comme un de nos contributeurs.

Travaillant comme danseuse en Japon, Isabel a commencé le Taiko en faisant partie du groupe Ago Kaijin Daiko. Après son retour de l'Espagne, elle a activement participé dans plusieurs projets-taiko: donner des ateliers et des leçons, contribuer à des documentaires et des articles concernant le taiko, mettre en scène des productions multiples en collaboration avec des groupes de danse et faire partie des discussions pendant le 1st European Taiko Conference. Selon Isabel, le taiko représente une forme joyeuse de developer sa personnalité et d'expressivité, tout en incorporant le rhythme, le mouvement mais aussi la capabilité de s'écouter l'un et l'autre, le Teamwork et la confidence en soi-même.

Son atelier portant sur le mouvement est sûr de vous lancer un défi de créativité!

Contributeur du Festival: InnerDrum

InnerDrum

On est ravi d'annoncer Steven Cools comme l'un de nos contributeurs cette année!

Steven s'est interessé pour longtemps aux drums et rythmes. Pour des années, il s'est concentré sur le drum kit, mais après avoir suivi un atelier inspirant, la pourte du taiko s'est ouverte pour lui. Désormais, Steven a étudié le taiko, il a donné des ateliers et cherche de joueurs pour son projet InnerDrum pour fait partager le message taiko en Bélgique.

Ne ratez pas votre chance de suivre son atelier et d'être défi de ses rythmes exigeants.

Contributeur Surprise du Festival: Shogo Yoshii

Shogo Yoshii

On est super content de vous annoncer Shogo Yoshii comme un de nos contributeurs!

Dans ces jeunes ans, Shogo a voyagé les provinces du Japon pour étudier la musique folklore et tribale. En 2003, il a été reçu au Centre d'Apprentissage de Kodo et faisait partie du groupe officiel de représentation en 2007. Sur scène avec Kodo, il a joué de la percussion, à la flûte bambou, au kokyu (violon japonais), mais il a aussi participé dans des pièces de danse. Sa composition 'Sora' s'utilise aujourd'hui dans des documents d'enseignement pour les écoles élémentaires au Japon.

En 2010, Shogo a rejoint l'ensemble musical 'Babel', choréographié par Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui et Damein Jalet. En cette année même, il a dirigé et participé dans la pièce de flamenco 'Dojoji'. En plus, il fait partie de la production des pièces 'Noetic' et 'Fractus V', avec lesquelles il est en tournée européenne en ce moment-ci.

Ne manquez pas la chance de le voir en live et de participer à son atelier de Yokouichi!

Contributeurs du Festival: Fulda Taiko Dojo

Fulda Taiko Dojo

On est ravi de vous présenter un autre contributeur de ce festival: Edoart Peters.

Edoart, fondateur et directeur du Fulda Taiko Dojo, a lancé sa carrière de Taiko en 2004. Il est l'un des plus vieux élèves allemands du maître de taiko Katsuji Kondo, sur l'exemple de qui il enseigne à ses propres élèves depuis 2007. Le style distinct que s'est approprié Edo est marqué par la précision, la dynamique et une forme très équilibrée, tout cela accompagné par une technique novatrice et bien développée.

En plus de nous offrir un atelier, Edo nous présentera son équipement personnel sur la place du marché.

Atilier de Calligraphie Shodo

Shodo

Voulez-vous essayer la calligraphie japonaise traditionnelle? Vous pouvez vous immerger et profiter de ce monde d’encre noir. Tout le matériel et équipement nécessaire sera mis à disposition.

Inscription

Passes du festival et billets d'atelier en vente

Nous avons travaillé dur pour pouvoir vous donner  de bonnes nouvelles! Avec l'aide de plusieurs généreux contributeurs au festival, nous sommes en mesure d'annoncer plus de détails du formidable programme de cette année, y compris:

   Des ateliers stimulants pour joueurs de taiko de tout niveau.
   Concerts ouverts par les invités dans une atmosphère amicale.
   Performances en collaboration, mettant en vedette des contributeurs invités.

La quantité des passes du festival et billets d'atelier est limitée - disponibles ici!

Contributeurs du Festival: Wadaiko Tokara

Tokara

Nous avons été époustouflé des réactions quant au prochain festival Taiko Spirit en Suisse! Mais pourquoi ne pas faire encore plus monter les attentes... Prêts?!

Nous sommes heureux d'annoncer qu' Art Lee et Yukari Ichise seront deux de nos contributeurs cette année!

Wadaiko Tokara est devenu une grande force dans le monde du taiko, aussi bien au Japon qu'à l'échelle internationale. Tout en intégrant des arrangements de pièces de taiko traditionelles dans leur performance, Tokara a été le pionnier d'un style de taiko époustouflant à en faire tomber la mâchoire, où vitesse et puissance rejoignent gestes éloquents. Nous sommes sûrs que les ateliers extrêmement recherchés d'Art et d'Ikari seront pour tous le grand temps fort. ÇA PROMET!

Pour des informations supplémentaires, enregistrez-vous ici.

Contributeurs du Festival: Kion Dojo

Kion

Nous sommes heureux d'annoncer qu' Ingmar Kikat est de nos contributeurs cette année!

Fort d'une longue experience - de la percussion classique au jazz, en passant par  le rock - Ingmar commença le Taiko en 2001. Il fonda le Kion Dojo à Hambourg en 2006, puis le groupe de performances de pointe Taikoon en 2008, après avoir vécu à Tokyo en tant que membre de Tawoo Dojo (Gocoo). Il joue et enseigne une manière unique de jouer du taiko, avec des arrangements mélodiques jamais entendus auparavant. Nous nous réjouissons de son groove profond à son atelier!

Restez connectés, les détails sur les ateliers et spectacles s'en viennent dans les prochaines semaines!

Contributeurs du Festival: Tsuchigumo Daiko

Tsuchigumo

Nous sommes en extase de pouvoir annoncer que Martin Doyle et Shonagh Walker sont contributeurs du festival de cette année!

Du Royaume-Uni au Japon, Martin et Shonagh ont fait d'innombrables spectacles pendant leurs tournées et ont joué à titre professionnel avec les Mugenkyo Taiko Drummers. En 2016, ils ont co-fondé Tsuchigumo Daiko, basé dans la région centrale d'Écosse, qui a rapidement pris d'assaut la scène européenne du taiko avec son énergie explosive et ses différents styles de jeu. Ce duo accompli et dynamique est enthousiaste à l'idée de s'associer et de partager avec la communauté du taiko, l'esprit et le coeur ouvert.

Restez connectés, les détails sur les ateliers et spectacles s'en viennent dans les prochaines semaines!

Festival de Taiko 2016

Nous sommes ravis de vous annoncer le retour du Taiko Spirit du
2 au 4 septembre 2016!

Nous travaillons en étroite collaboration avec le village de Signau, des groupes locaux de taiko et des volontaires pour bâtir sur le succès de l’année dernière. Les prochains festivals Taiko Spirit garderont ces éléments familiers et tant aimés: concerts et ateliers de taiko, camping dans la nature, cuisine de la région et atmosphère chaleureuse de matsuri.

Par ailleurs, le village nous a généreusement autorisé l’utilisation de leur infrastructure, ce qui serait grandement bénéfique en cas de mauvais temps. On s’attend à avoir en septembre plus de soleil et moins de risque de pluie. Nous espérons également plus de concerts et d’ateliers de nos invités venant de l’étranger.

Un grand merci à tous ceux qui se sont déjà portés volontaires pour contribuer au dernier festival (équipement, logistique, ateliers, concerts etc.). Nous espérons pouvoir compter à nouveau sur vous pour 2016! La planification du programme est déjà en cours, alors n’hésitez pas à nous contacter si vous souhaitez contribuer.

Au nom de toute l’équipe du Taiko Spirit, nous vous remercions de votre soutien continu et de votre enthousiasme.

Taiko Spirit, Signau, Switzerland

Welcome

Arigatou gozaimasu!

Dear taiko friends,

It was an absolute honour to host so many open, loving, fun and talented taiko players here in Switzerland!

A big thanks to all of you who travelled so far to our cozy corner of the world and played with such heart during workshops as well as on stage. A very special thanks goes to Tokara, Shogo Yoshii, Tsuchigumo Daiko,Kion Dojo, Taiko Zentrum Deutschland, Fulda Taiko Dojo, Isabel Romeo and Steven Cools. This little festival has come a long way with all of your kindness and support.
We really can't thank you enough!

Our team worked hard but what we got back in smiles, hugs, help and memories was more than we could have ever hoped for.

Don't forget to sign up for the newsletter to keep in touch

We can't wait to see you all again in 2018!

Festival Contributor: Isabel Romeo Taiko

Isabel Romeo

We are pleased that Isabel Romeo is one of this year's festival contributors.

Isabel began taiko with Ago Kaijin Daiko while working in Japan as a dancer. Since returning to Spain, she has been very active in various taiko-related projects: teaching workshops and lessons, contributing to taiko documentaries and articles, performing with dance companies as well as paneling a discussion at the 1st European Taiko Conference. For Isabel, taiko is a joyous way of personal development and expression that incorporates rhythm and movement as well as listening skills, teamwork, trust and self-confidence.

Her movement workshop is sure to challenge you and excite your creativity!

Festival Contributor: InnerDrum

InnerDrum

We're please to have Steven Cools as one of this year's festival contributors.

Steven has long been fascinated by drums and rhythm. For years his main focus was on playing drum kit until eventually getting hooked on taiko after an inspiriting workshop. Since then, Steven has been playing taiko, recently started offering workshops, and is currently looking for players for his InnerDrum project to spread the taiko message in Belgium.

Don't miss learning some of his challenging rhythm drills in his workshop!

Surprise Festival Contributor: Shogo Yoshii

Shogo Yoshii

We are very pleased to have Shogo Yoshii as one of this year's festival contributors.

In his youth, Shogo traveled the Japanese countryside studying traditional folksongs and tribal music. In 2003, he entered the Kodo Apprentice Centre and became a member of Kodo's performing arts ensemble in 2007. On stage in Kodo, he was featured on the taiko, metallic percussion, bamboo flutes, kokyu (Japanese violin) and in numerous dance pieces. His original composition 'Sora' is used in a textbook for Japanese elementary school students.

In 2010, he joined the musical ensemble of 'Babel', choreographed by Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui and Damien Jalet. In the same year, he was music director and performer in Arte y Solera's flamenco piece, 'Dojoji'. Shogo is also involved in the productions 'Noetic' and 'Fractus V', with which he is currently on tour in Europe.

Don't miss the opportunity to see him in concert or to take part in his Yokouchi workshop!

Festival Contributor: Fulda Taiko Dojo

Fulda Taiko Dojo

We are pleased that Edoart Peters is one of this year's festival contributors.

Eduard, the founder and director of Fulda Taiko Dojo, began his career in 2004. He is one of oldest German taiko students of the Japanese taiko teacher Katsuji Kondo, after whose example he teaches own students since 2007. Precision, dynamics and a balanced efficient form, accompanied by modern developed technique aptly describe the energetic and ergonomic style, which Eduard has made his own.

Apart from leading a workshop, Edo will present his very own taiko equipment at the festival marketplace!

Festival Contributor: Taiko Zentrum Deutschland

TZD

We are pleased to have Razz Purcell as one of this year's festival contributors!

Razz is an accomplished taiko player and professional musician from the United States. He has studied under several influential taiko artists such as Kenny Endo, Masato Baba and Joel Mankey and founded the group Celt Taiko. In 2011 he relocated from Los Angeles to Ulm, Germany to remain close to his young daughter. Since then he has founded and led Taiko Zentrum Deutschland to share his dynamic and exciting style for which North American players are well known.

There are still a few spots available in his workshops, but you'd better move fast!

Shodo Calligraphy Workshop

Shodo

Would you like to experience traditional Japanese calligraphy? Here you can immerse yourself in and enjoy a world of black ink. All necessary materials and equipment will be provided.

Registration

Festival passes and workshop tickets on sale

We've been hard at work to give you some exciting news! With the help of several generous festival contributors, we are able to announce more details of a great programme for this years festival, including:

   Challenging workshops for taiko players of all levels.
   Open mic concerts by guests in a friendly atmosphere.
   Collaborative performances featuring guest contributors.

Festival pass and workshop ticket quantities are limited and available here!

Festival Contributors: Wadaiko Tokara

Tokara

We have been blown away by the response to the upcoming Taiko Spirit festival! But why not pump up the anticipation even more, shall we?!

We are happy to announce that Art Lee and Yukari Ichise will be two of this year’s festival contributors! 

Wadaiko Tokara has become a strong force in the world of taiko both in Japan and internationally. While incorporating arrangements of traditional taiko pieces into their performance, Tokara has pioneered a jaw-dropping style of taiko, where speed and power meet eloquent movements. We are positive that Art and Yukari’s fun and challenging workshops will be a major highlight for everyone. CAN'T WAIT!

Please register for more contributors announcements, as well as ticket and workshop details in the coming weeks!

Festival Contributor: Kion Dojo

Kion

We are thrilled to announce Ingmar Kikat is one of this year's festival contributors!

Ingmar has a wide background from classical percussion to jazz and rock and started playing Taiko in 2001. He founded Kion Dojo in Hamburg, Germany in 2006 and the cutting edge performance group Taikoon in 2008, after living in Tokyo as a member of Tawoo Dojo (Gocoo). He plays and teaches a unique way of playing taiko with unheard of melodic arrangements. Looking forward to some deep grooves in his workshop.

Stay tuned for performance and workshop details in the coming weeks!

Festival Contributors: Tsuchigumo Daiko

Tsuchigumo

We are ecstatic to announce that Martin Doyle and Shonagh Walker are two of this year's festival contributors!

From the UK to Japan, Martin and Shonagh have performed in countless shows while touring and playing professionally with Mugenkyo Taiko Drummers. In 2016, they co-founded Tsuchigumo Daiko based in Central Scotland, which has quickly taken the European taiko scene by storm with its explosive energy and diverse playing styles. This accomplished and dynamic couple is enthusiastic to connect and share with the taiko community with open minds and hearts.

Stay tuned for workshop and performance details in the coming weeks!

Taiko Festival 2016

We are happy to announce that we will be back on 
2-4 September, 2016

We are working in close collaboration with the village of Signau, local taiko groups and volunteers to build on the success of last year's festival. Future Taiko Spirit festivals will retain the elements that we know and love: taiko concerts, exciting workshops, camping in nature, regional cuisine, and a cozy matsuri atmosphere. 

Additionally, the village has kindly allowed us the utilize of nearby facilities, which will be greatly beneficial in the event of poor weather. Moreover, this time of year is sunnier with a lower risk of rain than June. We also wish to have more performances and workshops by our guests from abroad. 

A big thanks to all those who already volunteered to contribute (equipment, logistics, workshops, performances, etc.) to the last festival. We hope you can do so again for 2016! The programme planning phase has already begun, so please do not hesitate to contact us if you would like to contribute!

On behalf of the Taiko Spirit team, thanks for your continued support and enthusiasm!