Workshops

You can choose from a fun and challenging workshops. There is something for everyone:
2016 Workshop & Concert Schedule (PDF)

Participation in workshops must be done in combination with a 1-day pass or a festival pass.

OK, Katsugi!

Fr 2. Sep 2016, 13:30 - 15:30

OK, Katsugi!

Martin Doyle & Shonagh Walker (En)

An introduction to Katsugi Okedo playing, where we will take participants through the basics of stance, drum position, bachi grip, form, basic rhythms, and movement. We will also cover the techniques for playing both sides of the drum, and offer exercises for further development.

If you have your own katsugi okedaiko, please bring it!

Price: CHF 40

Modern Tateuchi Technique

Fr 2. Sep 2016, 13:30 - 15:30

Modern Tateuchi Technique

Eduard Peters (En/De/Ru)

For the past decade, Eduard has followed his taiko teacher, Katsuji Kondo (Ondekoza/Kodo). He wishes to share the most valuable experiences from this period with all the workshop participants. This involves increased by efficient and ergonomic technique, comprehensible means of various exercises for Ji-stabilisation, right-left coordination, and development of musicality in general.

This workshop is directed towards Taiko-players with at least one year experience.

Price: CHF 40

Explore the Space

Sa 3. Sep 2016, 09:00 - 12:00

Explore the Space

Martin Doyle & Shonagh Walker (En)

In this workshop we will use mitsu-uchi variations, and rhythms inspired by the 'Hokuriku' style to help demystify solo improvisation on the drum and movement around the playing space. We will also cover bachi tricks, footwork, and offer some of our own Tsuchigumo-style drills.

Price: CHF 60

Deconstructing Rhythm

Sa 3. Sep 2016, 09:00 - 10:30

Deconstructing Rhythm

Steven Cools (En/Nl)

This will be a rhythmically challenging workshop where we explore the relationship between time and beats, subdivisions, pulse and groups. In doing so we experience the fun and feel behind these theoretical aspects of taiko and rhythm. Get ready for cool rhythmic changes and a fried brain!

Price: CHF 30

Nanameuchi Basics

Sa 3. Sep 2016, 09:00 - 12:00

Nanameuchi Basics

Razz Purcell (En/De)

Nanameuchi is the slanted style of taiko playing originating from Bon Festival drumming in the Tokyo region. This fun and expressive style has become particularly popular throughout North America. Participants will learn the fundamentals that form a solid nanameuchi technique. Kata with flowing and powerful movements will be explored.

Price: CHF 60

Moving from the core

Sa 3. Sep 2016, 10:30 - 12:00

Moving from the core

Isabel Romeo Biedma (En/Sp/Jp)

Through engaging exercises, we will experience that everything in our body is connected, and that our core is the basis for relaxed and free movement. We will focus on honing our body awareness and consciousness. Participants will be able to apply the skills learned to all movements in one's life, including taiko.

This workshop involves body contact with other participants. 

Price: CHF 30

Introduction to Taiko

Sa 3. Sep 2016, 13:00 - 14:30

Introduction to Taiko

Razz Purcell (En/De)

Discover how to use your whole body to bring out the sound of the taiko. If you've never played before, then this workshop is for you! Participants will learn basic taiko techniques and rhythms in a fun atmosphere.

Taiko playing requires great energy and teamwork, as well as total integration of one’s mind, body and spirit. So prepare yourself for a unique group experience that will energise, stimulate and excite.

Price: CHF 30

Narimo-YES

Sa 3. Sep 2016, 13:30 - 14:30

Narimo-YES

Martin Doyle & Shonagh Walker (En)

Participants will be taken through basic techniques on chappa (hand cymbals) and atarigane (small gong). From the various grips, stroke types, available sounds, and rhythms to help build solid technique, before going through movement and performance ideas.

If you have your own atarigane or pair of chappa, please bring it.

Price: CHF 20

Yokosuke Uta

Sa 3. Sep 2016, 13:30 - 16:30

Yokosuke Uta

Yukari Ichise (En/Jp)

Yokosuke Uta is a piece created by Art Lee in 2007. The name represents the style in which the performance piece is played. "Yoko" is for Yokomen-uchi, or horizontal playing. "Suke" represents the naname style, or slant at about a 45 - 60 degree angle. "Uta" is another word for song. It is played with a jazzy feeling and dynamic rotations between several taiko.

Price: CHF 60

Shodo Calligraphy

Sa 3. Sep 2016, 13:30 - 15:00

Shodo Calligraphy

Denise Baumgartner (En/De/Jp)

Shodo (Japanese calligraphy) is the art of creating words with ink and brush. It is an ancient East Asian art form that has been refined over the centuries. By taking part in shodo you take part in this tradition of East Asian wisdom and tranquility. Shodo has also been used as a form of meditation; through the rhythmic brushing of characters, practitioners find inner peace.

Would you like to experience traditional Japanese calligraphy? Here you can immerse yourself in and enjoy a world of black ink. All necessary materials and equipment will be provided.

Registration
Price: CHF 20

3 Elements for Groove

Sa 3. Sep 2016, 14:30 - 16:30

3 Elements for Groove

Ingmar Kikat (En/De/Jp)

In this workshop we will practice 3 basic elements for the development of groove in taiko:

  1. Connecting to the beat
  2. Timing and movement
  3. Flowing bachi for accents

Practicing these 3 elements can help players of all styles to develop more groove feeling in the body, a better timing and a more differentiated way of playing. Recommended for players of all levels!

Price: CHF 40

The Ultimate Miyake Daiko

Su 4. Sep 2016, 09:00 - 12:00

The Ultimate Miyake Daiko

Art Lee (En/Jp)

Miyake Daiko is one of the most popular traditional taiko pieces in existence. The piece evokes images of Miyake island as the waters slowly move away from the island then begin to gain strength as the wind and the ocean floor pushes the waters upward and on, until reaching the mainland with full force. This workshop will focus is on simple, yet powerful rhythms and body movement. Rhythms learned in this workshop will be available for continued practice at home afterwards.

Price: CHF 60

Yokouchi

Su 4. Sep 2016, 09:00 - 12:00

Yokouchi

Shogo Yoshii (En/Jp)

Originating on the island of Hachijo-jima, this visually arresting style of taiko combines fluid, graceful movement with startling power.

Workshop participants will be taken through the basic form and associated techniques, and shown exercises to develop the relaxed and powerful strokes the style is so renowned for. These foundational concepts can be applied to all styles of playing, making this workshop a must for players of all levels. Participants should bring a small towel for a pulling exercise.

Price: CHF 60

Shodo Calligraphy

Su 4. Sep 2016, 10:00 - 11:30

Shodo Calligraphy

Denise Baumgartner (En/De/Jp)

Shodo (Japanese calligraphy) is the art of creating words with ink and brush. It is an ancient East Asian art form that has been refined over the centuries. By taking part in shodo you take part in this tradition of East Asian wisdom and tranquility. Shodo has also been used as a form of meditation; through the rhythmic brushing of characters, practitioners find inner peace.

Would you like to experience traditional Japanese calligraphy? Here you can immerse yourself in and enjoy a world of black ink. All necessary materials and equipment will be provided.

Registration.
Price: CHF 20

Workshops

Wählen Sie aus einem vielseitigen und faszinierenden Workshop-Programm. Für jeden ist etwas dabei:
2016 Workshop & Konzert Zeitplan (PDF)

Die Workshops können in Kombination mit einem 1-Tagespass oder Festivalpass besucht werden.

OK, Katsugi!

Fr 2. Sep 2016, 13:30 - 15:30

OK, Katsugi!

Martin Doyle & Shonagh Walker (En)

Dieser Workshop wird alle Interessierten in die Grundlagen der Katsugi Okedo Technik einführen. Die wichtigsten Punkte sind der richtige Stand, die Positionierung der Trommel, Bachi-Griff, Form, Grundrhythmen und Bewegung. Ebenso wird erläutert, wie beide Seiten der Trommel gespielt werden können und es werden weiterführende Übungen angeboten.

Wenn du deinen eigenen Katsugi Okedaido besitzst, bitten wir dich darum es mitzunehmen.

Preis: CHF 40

Moderne Tateuchi Technik

Fr 2. Sep 2016, 13:30 - 15:30

Moderne Tateuchi Technik

Eduard Peters (En/De/Ru)

Seit einem Jahrzehnt folgt Eduard nun seinem Taiko-Lehrer Katsuji Kondo (Ondekoza/Kodo). Die äusserst wertvollen Erfahrungen aus dieser Zeit möchte er gerne mit den Workshopteilnehmern teilen. Dabei geht es viel um effiziente und ergonomische Technik, nachvollziehbar anhand diverser Übungen zur Ji-Stabilisierung, Rechts-Links Koordination, sowie Entwicklung der Musikalität allgemein.

Dieser Workshop richtet sich vor allem an Taikospieler mit mindestens einem Jahr Erfahrung.

Preis: CHF 40

Entdecke den Raum

Sa 3. Sep 2016, 09:00 - 12:00

Entdecke den Raum

Martin Doyle & Shonagh Walker (En)

In diesem Workshop wird daran gearbeitet, mithilfe von mitsu-uchi Variationen und Rhythmen, die vom 'Hokuriku-Style' inspiriert sind, den Mythos um Solo-Improvisation und Bewegungen beim Spielen ein wenig zu lüften. Ebenso werden Bachi-Tricks sowie Fussarbeit angeschaut und eigene Übungen im Tsuchigumo-Stil angeboten.

Preis: CHF 60

Dekonstruktion von Rhythmus

Sa 3. Sep 2016, 09:00 - 10:30

Dekonstruktion von Rhythmus

Steven Cools (En/Nl)

Dieser Workshop ist rhythmisch anspruchsvoll und lädt dazu ein, die Zusammenhänge von Zeit und Timing, Schlägen, Puls und Rhythmusgruppen zu erkunden. Durch besseres Verständnis dieser Elemente können diese auch mit mehr Spass und Erfolg differenziert eingesetzt werden. Seid bereit, euren Kopf mit cooler rhythmischer Vielfalt zum Rauchen zu bringen!

Preis: CHF 30

Nanameuchi Grundlagen

Sa 3. Sep 2016, 09:00 - 12:00

Nanameuchi Grundlagen

Razz Purcell (En/De)

Nanameuchi ist ein Stil des Taiko, wo die Trommel liegend und geneigt gespielt wird. Dieser Trommelstil entstammt aus den Bon Festspielen der Tokyo Region und wurde vor allem in Nord-Amerika sehr populär. Teilnehmer des Workshops lernen die Fundamente dieser ausdrucksstarken Form des Taiko spielens und was es braucht um eine solide Nanameuchi Technik zu erarbeiten. Dabei werden Kata mit fliessenden und kraftvollen Bewegungen eingesetzt.

Preis: CHF 60

Bewegung aus dem Körperzentrum

Sa 3. Sep 2016, 10:30 - 12:00

Bewegung aus dem Körperzentrum

Isabel Romeo Biedma (En/Sp/Jp)

Anregende Übungen sollen uns bewusst machen, dass Alles in unserem Körper in direkter Verbindung zueinander steht und der Schlüssel zu relaxten und befreiten Bewegungen in der Beherrschung unseres Körperzentrums liegt. Der Fokus des Kurses liegt also auf der schärferen Wahrnehmung des eigenen Körpers. Die hier gelernten Fähigkeiten können in allen Lebensbereichen eingesetzt werden, auch im Taiko.

Körperkontakt mit anderen Teilnehmern ist grundlegend bei diesem Workshop.

Preis: CHF 30

Taiko Schnupperworkshop

Sa 3. Sep 2016, 13:00 - 14:30

Taiko Schnupperworkshop

Razz Purcell (En/De)

Entdecke, wie du deinen eigenen Körper nutzen kannst, um den Klang der Taiko heraus zu bringen. Für diejenige, welche noch nie Taiko gespielt haben, ist dieser Workshop genau das richtige! Teilnehmer lernen hier die Grundlagen des Taiko spielens und Rhythmusgefühl auf einer spielerischen Art.

Taiko spielen benötigt grosse Ausdauer, viel Teamwork sowohl auch ein ganzheitliches Gefühl für Körper, Geist und Seele. Sei bereit für eine einzigartige und aufregende Erfahrung, welches dich auch anspornen und motivieren wird!

Preis: CHF 30

Narimo-YES

Sa 3. Sep 2016, 13:30 - 14:30

Narimo-YES

Martin Doyle & Shonagh Walker (En)

Teilnehmer werden in die Grundtechniken der Chappa (Handzimbeln) und Atarigane (kleiner Gong) eingeführt. Als Erstes werden verschiedene Griff- und Schlagtechniken, die unterschiedlichen Klänge und Rhythmusmöglichkeiten besprochen, um eine gute Basis für die anschliessenden Ideen für Performance und Bewegunsabläufe zu haben.

Wenn du deinen eigenen Atarigane oder Paar Chappas besitzst, bitten wir dich darum es mitzunehmen.

Preis: CHF 20

Yokosuke Uta

Sa 3. Sep 2016, 13:30 - 16:30

Yokosuke Uta

Yukari Ichise (En/Jp)

Das Stück Yokosuke Uta wurde 2007 von Art Lee verfasst. Der Name steht für den Stil, in welchem Yokosuke Uta gespielt wird. "Yoko" steht für "Yokomen-uchi", also horizontales Spielen. "Suke" steht für den naname-Stil, beziehungsweise die Neigung der Taiko in einem Winkel von ungefähr 45-60 Grad. "Uta" ist ein anderes Wort für "Lied". Das ganze Stück wird mit einem jazzigen Grundgefühl und dynamischen Rotationen zwischen verschiedenen Taiko gespielt.

Preis: CHF 60

Shodo Kalligraphie

Sa 3. Sep 2016, 13:30 - 15:00

Shodo Kalligraphie

Denise Baumgartner (En/De/Jp)

Shodo (japanische Kalligrafie) ist die Kunst des Worte schreibens mit Tinte und Pinsel. Es ist eine alte Ostasiatische Kunst, welche sich über die Jahrhunderte veredelt und perfektioniert hat. Wer sich mit der Shodo einlässt, verbindet sich mit ostasiatischen Weisheiten und der Stille des Momentes. Shodo war in alten Zeiten auch eine Form der Meditation. Durch den rhythmischen Charakter des Pinselstriches fand der Praktizierende inneren Frieden.

Möchten Sie die traditionelle japanische Kalligrafie erleben? Hier können Sie selber eintauchen und die Welt der schwarzen Tinte geniessen. Alles notwendige Material wird bereitgestellt.

Andemlden
Preis: CHF 20

3 Elemente für den Groove

Sa 3. Sep 2016, 14:30 - 16:30

3 Elemente für den Groove

Ingmar Kikat (En/De/Jp)

In diesem Workshop werden wir 3 elementare Bestandteile für die Entwicklung von Groove im Taiko üben:

  1. Den Beat spüren
  2. Timing und Bewegung
  3. Bachiflow für Akzente

Das Üben dieser 3 Elemente kann Taiko-Spielern aller Stile helfen, mehr Körper-Groove-Gefühl, ein besseres Timing und eine differenziertere Spielweise zu entwickeln. Empfohlen für Spieler aller Level!

Preis: CHF 40

Ultimatives Miyake Daiko

So 4. Sep 2016, 09:00 - 12:00

Ultimatives Miyake Daiko

Art Lee (En/Jp)

Miyake Daiko zählt zu den wohl bekanntesten traditionellen Taiko-Stücken, die existieren. Das Stück ruft Bilder der Insel Miyake hervor, wie die Wasser langsam von der Insel ablassen, nur um vom Wind mit wachsender Stärke zum Land zurückgestossen zu werden, bis die Fluten mit voller Wucht auf die Ufer der Insel prallen. Dieser Workshop wird sich auf simple und gleichzeitg kraftvolle Rhythmen und Körperbewegungen konzentrieren. Die im Workshop gelernten Rhythmen können beim Training zu Hause angewendet werden.

Preis: CHF 60

Yokouchi

So 4. Sep 2016, 09:00 - 12:00

Yokouchi

Shogo Yoshii (En/Jp)

Ursprünglich auf der Insel Hachijo-jima entstanden, vereint dieser visuell fesselnde Taiko-Stil fliessende, anmutige Bewegungen mit unerwartete, aufweckende Kraft. Workshop-Teilnehmer lernen die Grundform und die damit verbundenen Techniken. Mit gezielten Übungen wird gezeigt, wie die entspannten und doch kraftvollen Schläge erlernt werden können, welche diesen Stil so einzigartig machen. Diese grundlegenden Konzepte können für jeden Taiko-Stil angewendet werden, so dass dieser Workshop ein Muss für Spieler aller Niveaus ist. Teilnehmer sollten ein kleines Handtuch mitbringen, welches für eine Zieh-Übung benötigt wird.

Preis: CHF 60

Shodo Kalligraphie

So 4. Sep 2016, 10:00 - 11:30

Shodo Kalligraphie

Denise Baumgartner (En/De/Jp)

Shodo (japanische Kalligrafie) ist die Kunst des Worte schreibens mit Tinte und Pinsel. Es ist eine alte Ostasiatische Kunst, welche sich über die Jahrhunderte veredelt und perfektioniert hat. Wer sich mit der Shodo einlässt, verbindet sich mit ostasiatischen Weisheiten und der Stille des Momentes. Shodo war in alten Zeiten auch eine Form der Meditation. Durch den rhythmischen Charakter des Pinselstriches fand der Praktizierende inneren Frieden.

Möchten Sie die traditionelle japanische Kalligrafie erleben? Hier können Sie selber eintauchen und die Welt der schwarzen Tinte geniessen. Alles notwendige Material wird bereitgestellt.

Anmelden
Preis: CHF 20